Executive Management

Each branch of the Sarasota Family YMCA is governed by a board of management which is comprised of approximately 15 - 25 community members who are dedicated to the advancement of the YMCA's mission to build strong kids, strong families, strong communities. A Metropolitan Board of Directors oversees the operations and strategic planning of the entire corporation. This board is comprised of chairpersons from the branch boards of management and community leaders.


The YMCA is grateful to these individuals who donate their time to our success and well-being and who go beyond their duties by volunteering for many special events and projects.


The names of the members of our current Metropolitan Board of Directors and boards of management are listed below.


Sarasota Family YMCA Metro Board of Directors 2013/2014

Ed Landis, Chairman

Rod Hershberger, Secretary

James Sartori, Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair

Lynn Bonnett, Wellness & After School Committee Chair

Jim Bos, Foster Care/Youth & Family Services Chair

George Augustin, Audit Committee Chair

Fred Jacobs, Governance Committee Chair

John Ross, Member at Large

Clay Cobb

Timothy Fannin

Jane Goodwin

John Hogan

LaRue Merrill

Louis Robison

John Ross

Vic Scully

Candy Swick


In addition to our Metropolitan Board, each fitness branch has its own advisory board.


Babe Weiller Branch Board Frank G. Berlin, Sr. Branch Board
Victor Scully, Chair Lynn Bonnett, Chair
Brad Broeder Sheryl Cruz
John Caragiulo Gene Ferrell
Kathleen Collins Mark Kapusta
Dan Dannheisser Jeff Maultsby
Tim Fannin  George Myers
Robert Friendman Jim Petrella
Josh Helmuth James Sartori
Thomas Monaghan Bradley S. Tremitiere


Bob Windom
  David Vernon



Evalyn Sadlier Jones Branch Board Hardee County Branch Board
Dr. Si McAninch, Chair Clay Cobb, Chair
Phil Arsenault Krystin Chapman
Rob Butcher Daniel Graham
Karen Crete Doug Jensen
Rita Ferrandino Travis McClenithan
Brenda Firlie Keith Nadaskay
Jane Goodwin Jessica Newman
Lisa Iltis Daniel Patterson
Bob Katz Steven Southwell
Gordon Lear  
Rick Noyes  
Tara Owen  
Candy Swick